2.0.8 Beta2 Expired, now what?

Hello everyone,
I’m pretty new to Orbbec devices, i bought my first Astra Pro last week. I already started developing with Unity. At the moment I’m feeling a bit confused about what’s going on with this 31st Match 2018 and why the unity SDK is not working anymore.
Can you explain me a bit the situation please?

Thanks!
Cosimo

Ok, nevermind, 2.0.9 beta3 out now, works perfectly, thanks!

If someone could explain the above that would be a big help, what I don’t understand is why the sdk must stop working when a new update is available, I hadn’t a clue why it had just stopped working and thought that the camera was faulty or my code had broken somehow.

is this going to happen again? amongst my confusion I ended up wiping my unity project and the whole saga cost me so much time.

With unity, the update package writes over everything and sadly I had expanded upon the sample code to get my project working.

how can I update the sdk in future without damaging my project? I don’t know which files specifically need to be updated and I had modified the code for DepthTextureRenderer and ColourTextureRenderer classes, since there was/is no documentation (right?) for working with unity/c# then I assumed this was why the samples were provided, as a starting point/reference.

Thanks in advance

1 Like

General advice for development in Unity:
Keep every file in any third party asset as it is. Unity will overwrite them on updates.

If you need to modify a file, copy it to a different folder first.
If it is code, try to make a new class which inherits the original one.

The big deal here is that also deployed applications will not work anymore. I am creating an app for a museum that uses Orbbec astra as input device (body interaction), and I need to provide a “new” version everytime that an update comes out otherwise it will simply stop working.

1 Like

I know. It was in response to: